Write All The Things!

I really need to keep blogging. I think of blogging ideas and then I’m all “oh, I’ll do that tomorrow!”

Obviously it never gets done. I’ll try to be better. 

Part of this is because I am writing a LOT. Since I sat down at my computer Passover weekend and wrote Like Gold, I’ve finished 4 full length novels. I’ve already read a lot. But I’m writing every day, every night, at work, on the train, wherever I can. And I’m no longer hypomanic (which I was when I wrote Like Gold) so this is really wonderful. I rarely finish books…I hadn’t finished a book in 6 years when I finished Like Gold.

Now I wrote Like Gold (50k) and Sky (55k), Like Gold’s sequel.

Then I picked up a project that I had had a vague idea about for several years now and sat down to write We All Fall Down. It finishes at just short of 50k and is a little short for the genre, but I liked my first draft. I started edits on it and then lost it in the epic death of my Dell laptop. 

Then I wrote the sequel to WAFD, We Are The Tide and it finished at almost 68k, and I *really* liked this first draft. 

I told myself I was going to let the third book to WAFD & WATT simmer and work on my middle grade prose book for awhile, but the third book was in my head when I woke up and I sat down and began working on it. It’s untitled yet, but I have about 10k finished and added a third POV. 

I’m writing an excessive amount and not editing a lot. Whenever the stories calm down in my head, I need to sit down and rewrite and revise these. I do want to be querying this fall. 🙂

So, that’s where I am. I’m writing. And I’m reading. I’m going to put together a list of all the books I’ve read this spring and short blurbs and thumbs up/down on them to post later this week. 

3 thoughts on “Write All The Things!

  1. Zen says:

    It sounds like you’re quite productive, and I feel kinda envious, haha. I haven’t had much time to do any writing besides blog writing, and that makes me sad. Editing can wait – it’s more important to get those ideas in your head settled down first!

    • Katie L says:

      I’m producing a lot, but revising very little. If I want to query anytime this year, I really need to slow down and start revising and rewriting. Sigh.

      I am also using writing to procrastinate on job applications, which is Very Bad.

Leave a comment